Ausstellung Expanded Media/Exhibition Expanded Media

Media in Space & Network Culture
Media in Space & Network Culture

Artistic works from the competitions Media in Space and Network Culture are on display, which includes cross-border formats such as performance, installation, Expanded Cinema and Net Art like interactive web or social web projects or interventions at public and virtual spaces.

Opening Hours Expanded Media Exhibition at Filmwinter-Palais (08.02.-12.02.18)
Thu: 17:00 – 18:30 and 21:00 – 22:00
Fri: 17:00 – 22:00
Sat: 17:00 – 22:00
Sun: 17:00 – 18:30 and 20:00 – 22:00
Mon: 17:00 – 22:00
Exhibition and Supporting Programme – free admission

Guided Tours Thu 08.02.18 21:30 (guided tour through the exhibition at opening) Fri 09/Sat 10.02.18 18:00 Sun 11.02.18 17:30

Guided Tours for families with Sara Dahme Sat 10/Sun 11.02.18 17:00

Individual guided tours for groups Please contact: marcus.kohlbach@wand5.de

Meeting point for guided tours Exhibition Area, Filmwinter-Palais

How to get there U-Bahn, Bus: Stop Charlottenplatz

Filmwinter-Palais – Exhibition Area

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Watching Words Becoming A Film (TXT.FLM #3)

Herman Asselberghs
Belgium 2017
Single Screen, Colour, 4:3, ohne Ton, 6:13 Min, in loop (without break or pause)

This is a film comprising only of words – words printed, pasted, filmed, and edited image by image. No sound is added. Glue is still visible in the creases of the sheets of paper. It is a surprisingly anachronistic procedure for a film that is digitally produced and projected. This is a film that asks to be read – word for word, letter by letter – an endless, silent stream of consciousness. Watching a film as it is coming into being. The film’s title includes a subtitle with a number, indicating its placement in a series, immediately announcing a forthcoming episode. A film in/as a waiting room.

Driving Speed of my Motives

Peter Dobroschke
Germany2017
Video-Installation

In the video “Drehzahl meiner Beweggründe“ (“Driving Speed of my Motives“), the strenuous production of a film with the outmoded frame-by-frame animation process corresponds with the depicted Sisyphian actions of the artist in his studio. Dobroschke captured the morningexercise-like motions of “riding a bike in the air” in nine single frames. He then attached these pictures to the spokes of his bicycle which he photographed again while riding in circles in his studio’s yard and finally assembled these shots to a film. In the video, we can see the lower arch of the bicycle with a figure of the artist “walking” on the rim. He switches between being the driving force and being driven. In spite of all of his movements, he remains at the same spot of the circle – in the continuous and self-contained process of his occupation.

City and Birds

Matthias Fritsch
Deutschland 2017
1-Channel-Installation
Sound: Costis Drygianakis
Additional Sound: Christian “Chemiefaserwerk” Schiefner

Heavy war machines of an unknown air force are moving in circles in front of the concrete tableau of a seemingly gigantic megacity. An unclear situation: given the high number of helicopters we might be dealing with a situation of war. If so – who are the invaders? Where are we? As impressive and highly equipped as big combat helicopters normally are – in the wide scenery of the sea of houses below them, from afar they don’t seem to be so different from a flock of birds. How many of these metal birds are necessary to dominate and conquer the cityscape with its hundreds of thousands of houses. The wandering gaze and the quiet images accompanied by the threateningly buzzing machines create a mood that is both meditative and charged. This work is part of a series of “nature videos” in which the filmmaker Matthias Fritsch portrays authority in a nature documentary style and in this way creates tension and poetry.

Two Forces One Air

Anat Ivgi
Israel 2016
Video with Sound, 4:03 Min.

“Two Forces One Air” explores the relationship between Israel and Palestine. The thin line between love and hate is rooted in the similarities of these two nations.

Nintendogs

Fabian Kühfuß
Germany 2017
Cinetic Video Sculpture

“Nintendogs” is a wall-monted installation: a device made of electric motors and metal rods operates a Gameboy console whereby a touchscreen pen strokes a virtual puppy. Do robots dream of virtual puppies? “Nintendogs”, the Gameboy game explores the training of puppies. Additionally, respectively as a side effect or even more probable is the fact that the simulated leisure time with the virtual animals is a vital part of the game. The installation “Nintendogs” questions whether artificial empathy will ever play a part? Does a virtual dog realize it is being stroked by a robot? Can a virtual dog develop sympathy for that robot?

The Signal

Toby Tatum
UK 2017
Looped Video
Sound: Abi Fry

A cosmic message beamed from the sky. “The Signal” meditates on the hallucinatory potential abiding in nature and invites us to consider our receptivity to extreme natural phenomena. Designed to be screened as looped video, the work appears endless, with no apparent beginning or end. “The Signal” has a cumulative transformative power and aims to generate a subtly altered state of mind in the viewer.

How To Rob a Bank

Alan Bigelow
USA 2016/2017
Web-based work, made with JavaScript, CSS, and HTML5

“How to Rob a Bank” is a love story in five parts. The story focuses on the misadventures of a young and inexperienced bank robber and his female accomplice. The entire work is revealed through the main characters’ use of their iPhones and the searches, texts, apps, imagery, animations, audio, and functions that appear on their iPhones. End user interactivity is limited in this work (swipes or keyboard), but this is deliberate: the user is, in many ways, already “present” in the story observing iPhone displays as the main characters navigate their phones. The narrative point of view is simultaneously both the characters’ and the user’s, as if they are both sharing the same digitally rendered manifestations of their inward psyches. Character, plot, and symbolic resonance are created not only by the searches, texts, and purchases the characters make, but also by the various apps they use. The iPhones themselves become the setting for the story and the virtual space where the action takes place. In all of this, although their digital interaction appears minimal, the user is complicit. The work is playable on desktop, laptop, and portable devices.

Blue Vessel

Liliana Farber
Uruguay 2017
Web mobile Application

Blue Vessel is a mobile web app that takes the user on a digital voyage across uncharted waters. Hosted on a server located on a flagless ship drifting on international waters, the app invites users to write anonymous web messages by selecting words solely from the book “Robinson Crusoe” by Daniel Defoe, and learning survival skills from a chaotic browser that decomposes itself with each scroll movement. Through the redesign of mobile app familiar features, the project inquires into smartphones technologies as active agents in URL and IRL interactions, and explores new ways of Colonialism in the Internet era

Go Rando

Benjamin Grosser
USA 2017
Web-Browser-Extension

Facebook’s “reactions” let you express how you feel about a link, photo, or status. While such data might be helpful for your friends, these recorded feelings also enable increased surveillance, government profiling, more targeted advertising, and emotional manipulation. “Go Rando” is a web browser extension that obfuscates your feelings on Facebook. Every time you click “Like”, “Go Rando” randomly chooses one of the six “reactions” for you. Over time, you appear to Facebook’s algorithms as someone whose feelings are emotionally “balanced” – as someone who feels Angry as much as Haha or Sad as much as Love. You can still choose a specific reaction if you want to, but even that choice will be obscured by an emotion profile increasingly filled with noise. In other words, Facebook won’t know if your reaction was genuine or not. Want to see what Facebook feels like when your emotions are obscured? Then Go Rando!

Sculptures for Distant Places

Garrett Lynch
Ireland 2017
3-Channel-Network-Installation

“Sculptures for Distant Places” is a series of three networked sculptures titled “Sculpture for Mountains”, “Sculpture for Lakes” and “Sculpture for Forests” presented together as an installation. Each sculpture is created in response to a specific place or site. The sculptures employ aspects of those sites including streaming video feeds, weather data, time and location. This is combined with motion and audio capture within the gallery, the site from which the sculptures are seen, as input. The outcomes are audio-visual sculptures assembled by combining distant and local sites, their places and times merged through the space of a network, and the enabling of actions to occur between them. “Sculpture for Mountains” consists of sound reactive skewed square form that hovers over a view of Banff town, Canada seen from Sulphur Mountain. “Sculpture for Lakes” is an assemblage of circular forms that hover over the lake at Kinkaku-ji, the Golden Pavilion Temple, in Kyoto, Japan. “Sculpture for Forests” includes three forms derived from triangles whose surfaces are motion reactive and animated with triangular patterns. It is situated in the Šumava National Park, Czech Republic.

Quantic Space Ballet

Antoine Schmitt
France 2016
Sculpture in Augmented Reality 20m x 20m x 20m (only visible in AR on smartphone, in public space)
/supported by Augment.com, Plateforme Paris.

The atoms of our body work according to the same quantum laws as the whole universe and resonate with it. In “Quantic Space Ballet”, 1000 cubic pixels move in space in apparent complexity, but actually all ruled by the same quantumtype equation (frequencies all integer multiple of one another), thus creating a global dynamic structure in which the spectator gets immersed, included, protected, energized, deconstructed and reconstructed. “Quantic Space Ballet” puts us in relation with the quantum equations and mechanisms at work behind the screen of perceived reality.

iPhone/Android:
Download “augment.com” app (free) from iOS App Store/Google Play Store.
Launch “augment.com” app and use option “Scan”.
Scan picture above in the catalogue to activate “Quantic Space Ballet”.
Alternatively, insert this link into a browser on your device: http://agmt.it/m/9PrdhcOe

Let’s Not Play

Thomas Wagensommerer
Austria 2016
Installation

This piece tries to create an immersive environment, that blurs the line between game and performance, while the player becomes the performer and for that reason acts as intermediary between virtual (Gameplay) and physical (Performance) realities. By observing the ongoing rise of the online phenomenon (meanwhile rather: genre) called “Let’s Play”, that features players (meanwhile: superstars) playing, presenting and market certain computer games, this piece tries to modulate this concept in an artistic manner, while questioning the aesthetics of games, their presentation and of performance itself.

In-Camera-Proceedings

Alexander W. Schindler/Jack Wolf
Germany 2017
4-Channel-Installation

“In-Camera-Proceedings” is an intervention that challenges Googles Earth’s practice of scanning, modelling and storing our world. Google’s process involves a combination of aircraft imagery and satellite photos. These are pushed through image analysis and photogrammetry softwares that reconstruct 3D models of the area photographed. The 3D models created are stored on Google’s servers, they are not available for download. Our cities have been modelled digitised and then locked away. Google’s algorithms erase all inhabitants from these models. The digital world is not meant for human habitation. We can not change it, edit it, or rebuild it. We can only passively observe. “In-Camera-Proceedings” challenges this. It does not accept Google’s policy. The work visualises the technical process of taking back our space, it’s a tutorial in how to take back our virtual world. A virtual drone is programmed to fly through Google Earth taking hundreds of pictures of the digital terrain. These photos are then run through the same algorithms as the images taken by Google’s aircraft. We scan the scan and then upload it to a server where any one can download it, own it and change it.

Ausstellung Expanded Media/Exhibition Expanded Media

Medien im Raum & Network Culture
Medien im Raum & Network Culture

Gezeigt werden künstlerische Werke aus den internationalen Wettbewerben Medien im Raum und Network Culture. Dazu zählen grenzüberschreitende Formate zwischen Performance, Installation, Expanded Cinema und Netzkunst wie zum Beispiel interaktive Web- und Social-Web-Projekte oder Interventionen im öffentlichen und virtuellen Raum.

Öffnungszeiten Ausstellung Expanded Media im Filmwinter-Palais (08.02.-12.02.18)
Do: 17:00 – 18:30 und 21:00 – 22:00
Fr: 17:00 – 22:00
Sa: 17:00 – 22:00
So: 17:00 – 18:30 und 20:00 – 22:00
Mo: 17:00 – 22:00
Ausstellung und Begleitprogramm – Eintritt frei

Führungen Do 08.02.18 21:30 (Vernissage mit Eröffnungsrundgang) Fr 09./Sa 10.02.18 18:00 So 11.02.18 17:30

Familienführungen mit Sara Dahme Sa 10./So 11.02.18 17:00

Individuelle Gruppenführungen Kontakt für Anfragen: marcus.kohlbach@wand5.de

Treffpunkt Führungen Exhibition Area, Filmwinter-Palais

Anfahrt U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Filmwinter-Palais – Exhibition Area

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Watching Words Becoming A Film (TXT.FLM #3)

Herman Asselberghs
Belgien 2017
Bildschirm, Farbe, 4:3, ohne Ton, 6:13 Min, Loop (ohne Pause)

Dies ist ein Film, der nur aus Worten besteht – gedruckte, geklebte, gefilmte Worte, die Bild für Bild geschnitten wurden. Es wurde kein Ton hinzugefügt. Den Klebstoff kann man noch in den Knitterfalten der Papierblätter erkennen. Es ist eine überraschend anachronistische Prozedur für einen Film, der digital gemacht und projiziert wird. Der Film verlangt, dass man ihn liest – Wort für Wort, Buchstabe für Buchstabe – ein endloser, stummer Bewusstseinsstrom. Man sieht dem Film dabei zu, wie er entsteht. Zum Titel des Films gehört auch ein Untertitel mit einer Nummer, die seinen Platz in einer Serie anzeigt und direkt auf die kommende Episode hinweist. Ein Film im/als Wartezimmer.

Drehzahl meiner Beweggründe

Peter Dobroschke
Deutschland 2017
Video-Installation

In der Videoarbeit „Drehzahl meiner Beweggründe“ korrespondiert die mühsame Herstellung des Filmes im antiquierten Bild-für-Bild-Animationsverfahren zu den dargestellten sisyphosartigen Handlungen des Künstlers in seinem Atelier. Dobroschke hat seine wie Morgengymnastik anmutende Bewegung des „In-der-Luft-Rad-fahrens“ in neun Einzelbildern festgehalten. Diese Aufnahmen wurden in die Speichen seines Fahrrades montiert, dieses bei einer Kreisfahrt im Atelierhof erneut abgelichtet und die so entstandenen Fotografien zu einem Film montiert. In dem Video sieht man den unteren Bogen des Rades mit der Figur des Künstlers auf der Felge „laufend“. Er wechselt zwischen Antreibendem und Getriebenem. Trotz aller Bewegungen bleibt er stets am selben Punkt des Kreises – in steter und in sich ruhender Ausführung seiner Tätigkeit.

Die Stadt und die Vögel

Matthias Fritsch
Deutschland 2017
1-Kanal-Installation
Vertonung: Costis Drygianakis
Zusätzlicher Sound: Christian “Chemiefaserwerk” Schiefner

Schwere Kriegsmaschinen einer unbekannten Luftwaffe ziehen Kreise vor dem Beton-Tableau einer gigantisch wirkenden Millionenmetropole. Eine unklare Situation: Handelt es sich angesichts der großen Anzahl an Helikoptern um eine Kriegssituation? Falls ja, wer sind die Invasoren? Wo befinden wir uns? So eindrucksvoll und hochgerüstet große Kampfhubschrauber an sich sind – in der Weite des Häusermeeres unter ihnen wirken sie aus der Ferne nicht viel anders als ein Vogelschwarm. Wie viele dieser Metallvögel braucht es, um die Stadtlandschaft mit ihren Abertausenden von Häusern zu dominieren und zu bezwingen? Der schweifende Blick und die ruhigen Bilder erzeugen zusammen mit den bedrohlich surrenden Maschinen eine meditative und gleichzeitig aufgeladene Stimmung. Die Arbeit reiht sich ein in eine Serie von „Naturvideos“, in der Filmemacher Matthias Fritsch Staatsgewalt im Stil vom Naturdokumentationen ablichtet und auf diese Weise Spannung und Poesie erzeugt.

Two Forces One Air

Anat Ivgi
Israel 2016
Video mit Ton, 4:03 Min.

Das Video „Two Forces One Air“ thematisiert die Beziehung zwischen Israel und Palästina. Der schmale Grat zwischen dem Hass und der Liebe gründet in der Ähnlichkeit dieser Nationen.

Nintendogs

Fabian Kühfuß
Deutschland 2017
Kinetische Video-Skulptur

Nintendogs ist eine Wandinstallation: Eine Apparatur aus Elektromotoren und Metallgestänge bewegt eine GameboySpielekonsole, so dass ein TouchscreenStift einen virtuellen Hundewelpen streichelt. Träumen Roboter von virtuellen Welpen? Nintendogs, das Gameboy-Spiel, handelt vom Trainieren von Hundewelpen. Zusätzlich bzw. nebenbei oder wahrscheinlicher eigentlich ist simulierte Freizeit mit den virtuellen Tieren ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Spiels. Nintendogs die Installation fragt: Wird künstliche Empathie je eine Rolle spielen? Merkt ein virtueller Hund, dass er von einem Roboter gestreichelt wird? Und kann ein virtueller Hund Sympathien für diesen Roboter entwickeln?

The Signal

Toby Tatum
Großbritannien 2017
Looped Video
Sound: Abi Fry

Eine kosmische Nachricht aus dem Himmel. „The Signal“ befasst sich mit dem halluzinatorischen Potenzial und lädt uns dazu ein, über unsere Empfänglichkeit für extreme natürliche Phänomene nachzudenken. Als Loop angelegt erscheint das Video endlos, ohne klar auszumachenden Anfang und Ende. „The Signal“ hat eine sich allmählich steigernde, transformative Kraft und zielt darauf ab, beim Betrachter eine subtile Veränderung des Bewusstseinszustands zu generieren.

How To Rob a Bank

Alan Bigelow
USA 2016/2017
Web-basierte, mit JavaScript, CSS und HTML5 erstellte Arbeit

„How to Rob a Bank“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte in fünf Teilen, in deren Mittelpunkt die Missgeschicke eines jungen, unerfahrenen Bankräubers und seiner Komplizin stehen. Die Arbeit als Ganzes entfaltet sich in der Nutzung der iPhones durch die Hauptcharaktere: den Suchanfragen, Textnachrichten, Apps, Bildern, Animationen, Audiodateien und Funktionen, die auf ihren Handys erscheinen. Die Interaktivität bei dieser Arbeit ist absichtlich beschränkt (Wischen oder Keyboard-Eingabe): Der Benutzer ist in vielerlei Hinsicht schon „präsent“ in der Geschichte, indem er die iPhone-Displays der Hauptfiguren und deren Aktio nen darauf verfolgen kann. Der narrative Blickwinkel ist gleichzeitig der der Figuren und der Benutzer. Die Figuren, die Handlung und die symbolische Resonanz werden nicht allein durch die Aktionen der Charaktere erzeugt, sondern auch von den verschiedenen Apps, die sie benutzen. Die iPhones selbst werden zum Schauplatz der Geschichte und zum virtuellen Raum, in dem die Handlung stattfindet. Auch wenn die digitale Interaktion der Benutzer minimal erscheint, so werden sie dennoch in die Geschichte hineingezogen und quasi zum Komplizen. Die Arbeit kann auf dem Desktop, Laptop und Mobilgeräten gespielt werden.

Blue Vessel

Liliana Farber
Uruguay 2017
Mobile Web App

Blue Vessel ist eine mobile Web-App, die den Benutzer auf eine digitale Reise durch unbekannte Gewässer mitnimmt. Die App wird auf einem Server gehostet, der sich auf einem Schiff ohne Flagge befindet. Das Schiff wiederum driftet durch internationale Gewässer. Die App lädt den Benutzer dazu ein, anonyme Web-Nachrichten zu schicken. Hierbei dürfen ausschließlich Wörter aus Daniel Defoes Roman „Robinson Crusoe“ ausgewählt werden. Darüber hinaus kann man sich über Techniken des Überlebens informieren. Diese findet der Benutzer in einem chaotischen Browser, der sich mit jedem Scrollen des Bildschirms weiter auflöst. Durch die Neugestaltung von bekannten Mobile-App-Features untersucht das Projekt Smartphone-Technologien als aktive Vermittler bei URL- und IRL-Interaktionen und erforscht neue Wege des Kolonialismus im Zeitalter des Internets.

Go Rando

Benjamin Grosser
USA 2017
Web-Browser-Extension

Mit „Reaktionen“ bei Facebook können wir ausdrücken, was wir bei einem Link, Foto oder Status fühlen. Wenngleich diese Daten für Freunde eventuell hilfreich sind, ermöglichen die aufgezeichneten Gefühlsreaktionen auch erhöhte Überwachung, besseres Profiling für Behörden, gezielter ausgerichtete Werbung und emotionale Manipulation. „Go Rando“ ist eine Web-Browser-Erweiterung, die deine Gefühle auf Facebook verschleiert. Jedes Mal wenn du „Like“ klickst, wählt „Go Rando“ per Zufall eine der sechs „Reaktionen“ für dich aus. Im Lauf der Zeit nehmen dich die Algorithmen von Facebook als emotional „ausbalanciert“ wahr – jemand der genauso „Wütend“ wie „Haha“ oder „Traurig“ oder „Liebe“ ist. Wenn du willst, kannst du immer noch „Reaktionen“ selbst bestimmen, aber selbst diese Wahl wird von einem Emotionsprofil verzerrt, das zunehmend mit Lärm erfüllt wird. In anderen Worten: Facebook weiß nicht, ob deine Reaktion echt war oder nicht. Willst du wissen, wie sich die Benutzung von Facebook anfühlt, wenn deine Emotionen verzerrt werden? Dann „Go Rando“!

Sculptures for Distant Places

Garrett Lynch
Irland 2017
3-Kanal-Netzwerk-Installation

Die Reihe „Sculptures for Distant Places“ besteht aus drei Network-Skulpturen mit den Titeln „Sculpture for Mountains“, „Sculpture for Lakes“ und „Sculpture for Forests“, die zusammen als Installation gezeigt werden. Jede Skulptur wurde als Reaktion auf einen spezifischen Standort geschaffen. Die Skulpturen verwenden Aspekte dieser Standorte, wie Live-Streaming-Videos, Wetterdaten, Daten zu Zeit- und Ortsangaben. Diese werden mit der Erfassung der Bewegungs- und Audiodaten innerhalb des aktuellen Ausstellungsortes als Input kombiniert: Das Ergebnis sind audio-visuelle Skulpturen, zusammengesetzt aus der Kombination von entfernten und lokalen Standorten. Verschmolzen in Raum und Zeit durch den Raum eines Netzwerks und die möglichen Aktionen, die zwischen ihnen passieren. „Sculpture for Mountains“ besteht aus einer klang-reaktiven verzogenen Quadratform, die über dem Ort Banff in Kanada schwebt. „Sculpture for Lakes“ ist eine Collage aus Kreisformen, die über dem See von Kinkaku-ji, dem goldenen Pavillon-Tempel in Kyoto, Japan, schwebt. Zur „Sculpture for Forests“ gehören drei Formen, deren Oberflächen auf Bewegung reagieren und die mit dreieckigen Strukturen animiert sind. Ihr Standort liegt im Šumava-Nationalpark in Tschechien.

Quantic Space Ballet

Antoine Schmitt
Frankreich 2016
Augmented-Reality-Skulptur 20m x 20m x 20m (nur sichtbar in AR via Smartphone im öffentlichen Raum)
Unterstützt von Augment.com, Plateforme Paris.

Die Atome unserer Körper unterliegen den gleichen Quantengesetzen wie das gesamte Universum und schwingen deshalb auch entsprechend. In „Quantic Space Ballet“ bewegen sich 1000 quadratische Pixel in scheinbarer Unübersichtlichkeit im Raum – wobei sie denselben quantenartigen Gleichungsregeln (Frequenzen sind alle ganzzahlige Vielfache voneinander) unterliegen und dadurch eine globale dynamische Struktur bilden, die den Zuschauer ein saugt, involviert, beschützt, energetisiert, dekonstruiert und rekonstruiert. „Quantum Space Ballet“ setzt uns mit den Quantengleichungen und -mechanismen in Beziehung, die hinter dem Schirm der von uns wahrgenommenen Realität liegen.

iPhone/Android:
Download „augment.com“-App (gratis) von iOS App Store/Google Play Store.
Starte „augment.com“-App und benutze die Option „Scan“.
Scanne das Bild oben im Katalog, um „Quantic Space Ballet“ zu aktivieren.
Alternativ: Füge diesen Link im Browser auf deinem Smartphone ein: http://agmt.it/m/9PrdhcOe

Let’s Not Play

Thomas Wagensommerer
Österreich 2016
Installation

Diese Arbeit versucht eine immersive Umgebung zu entwerfen, die die Grenze zwischen Game und Performance verwischt, während die Spielerin zur Performerin wird und somit als Vermittlerin zwischen virtuellen (Gameplay) und physikalischen (Performance) Realitäten agiert. Unter Beobachtung des stetigen Anstiegs des Online-Phänomens (mittlerweile: Genre) „Let’s Play“, das Spielerinnen (mittlerweile: Superstars) beim Spielen, Präsentieren und Vermarkten bestimmter Computerspiele zeigt, versucht die Arbeit dieses Konzept in künstlerischer Weise zu modulieren, während die Ästhetik von Games, ihre Präsentation und Performance an sich hinterfragt werden.

In-Camera-Proceedings

Alexander W. Schindler/Jack Wolf
Deutschland 2017
4-Kanal-Installation

„In-Camera-Proceedings“ ist eine Intervention, die hinterfragt, wie Google Earth unsere Welt scannt, modelliert und speichert. Zum Verfahren von Google gehört eine Kombination aus Luftbildern und Satellitenfotos, welche durch ImageAnalyse- und Photogrammetrie-Software gejagt wird, die die aufgenommenen Orte in 3-D-Modellen rekonstruiert. Die so erzeugten 3-D-Modelle werden auf den Servern von Google gespeichert und können nicht heruntergeladen werden. Unsere Städte wurden modelliert, digitalisiert und dann weggesperrt. Wir können Googles digitale Welt nicht ändern, bearbeiten oder neu aufbauen, wir können sie nur passiv betrachten. „In-Camera-Proceedings“ akzeptiert Googles Richtlinien nicht. Die Arbeit visualisiert den technischen Prozess, wie wir unseren Raum zurückholen können – es ist ein Tutorial zur Rückeroberung unserer virtuellen Welt. Eine virtuelle Drohne ist darauf programmiert, durch Google Earth zu fliegen und hunderte von Bildern von dem digitalen Terrain aufzunehmen. Diese Fotos werden durch dieselben Algorithmen gejagt wie die Luftaufnahmen von Google. Wir scannen den Scan und laden ihn dann auf einen Server hoch, von dem ihn jeder wieder herunterladen, verändern und besitzen kann.