Kurzfilme 8

Short Films International Competition
Short Films International Competition
Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Valie

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Penúmbria

Portugal 2016, Colour, HD, 8:36 Min.
Regie, Script: Eduardo Brito
Camera: Jorge Quintela
Editing: Eduardo Brito, Rodrigo Areias
Sound: Pedro Marinho
Music: Joana Gama, Luís Fernandes

The dystopian city of Penúmbria was founded two hundred years ago, in a distant isthmus – a place of arctic soils, angry seas and violent weather. Penúmbria’s name hails from the almost permanent shadow, caused by a southern mountain. One day, its inhabitants decided to leave, offering the city to time. This is the story of an uninhabitable place.

Life In Boxes

Spain 2017, Colour, HD, 4:55 Min.
Regie, Script, Camera, Editing: Alexander Lemus
Sound: Xavi Valero
Music: Mario Pina
Actors: Edward Lachman, Jr

The life in boxes, the objects as a form of memory. Edward Lachman shows us his loft in New York where he lives surrounded by boxes which contents 70 years of history.

Embrace

Finnland 2017, Colour, HD, 4:34 Min.
Regie, Script: Timo Wright
Camera: Jarkko Virtanen
Editing: Liisa Vääriskoski
Sound: Taneli Bruun
Music: Katri Onnela

An empty, abandoned house. Slowly it fills with a red smoke, embracing the whole building. This film is about death, about what will be left of us. Are we just memories, or whispers in an empty space?

The lonely unit
De Eenzame Eenheid

Netherlands 2016, Colour, HD, 10:45 Min.
Regie, Script, Editing, Production: Carlijn Fransen
Camera: Casper Brink

The coffee table smokes a cigarette, the floor lamp looks over the shoulder of the lonesome boss laying on her sofa. In a series of surrealistic vignettes, the viewer is invited into an inward-facing world. The scenes create one storyline; a glimpse of an absurd yet maybe ordinary day in the life of main character Carlijn Fransen.

Dakhla

Mexico 2016, Colour, HD, 5:40 Min.
Regie, Editing: Mauricio Saenz
Camera: Guillermo Villa
Music: Le Trio Joubran
Actors: Belen Scaglia

“Dakhla” reflects on the concept of uncertainty and the imprecision of a changing reality as an ever-present confrontation. A narrative that describes a metaphoric trip to the middle of the sea between two distant points on the same latitude emphasizes on the idea of a future that feeds off chance and speculation.

This Was Home

Egypt, Israel, Poland, USA 2016, Colour, HD, 17:44 Min.
Regie: Dana Levy

The depiction of three generations of the artist’s family emphasizes the differences between their personal stories, which are related to different times and places. At the same time, however, presented side by side they turn into a multi-generational journey of identity, each becoming a chapter in the age-old history of Jewish wanderings.

my castle your castle

Germany 2017, Colour, HD, 14:47
Regie: Kerstin Honeit
Camera: Ljupcho Temelkovski, Annette Hollywood
Sound: Philipp Fröhlich, Jochen Jezussek
Music: Damian Rebgetz, Paul Hankinson
Actors: Peter Friedrich, Gunter Teichert, Damian Rebgetz, Paul Hankinson

The video tackles the debate about rebuilding the Berliner Stadtschloss on the foundations of the Palace of the Republic. Kerstin Honeit invites two building workers to take part in a discussion resembling a TV chat show held on the site. This reference is undermined and caricatured by a musical interlude performed by two queer cowboys.

Katagami

Japan 2016, Super 8, 3:10 Min.
Regie, Camera, Animation, Editing: Michael Lyons

This stop-motion animation was made by-photographing and re-photographing antique kimono resist-dyeing stencils in positive and negative. A joyful play with optical illusions, small variations in the repeating pattern elements generate apparent motion. Photographed on Super 8 and hand-developed using matcha (powdered green tea).

Kurzfilme 8

Kurzfilme Internationaler Wettbewerb
Kurzfilme Internationaler Wettbewerb
Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Valie

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Penúmbria

Portugal 2016, Farbe, HD, 8:36 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch: Eduardo Brito
Kamera: Jorge Quintela
Schnitt: Eduardo Brito, Rodrigo Areias
Ton: Pedro Marinho
Musik: Joana Gama, Luís Fernandes

Die Stadt Penúmbria wurde vor 200 Jahren gegründet in einem entfernten Isthmus – einem Ort mit arktischem Boden, wütendem Ozean und stürmischem Wetter. Seinen Namen trägt es wegen der fast permanenten Schattenlage. Eines Tages beschlossen die Einwohner, Penúmbria zu verlassen. Dies ist die Geschichte eines unbewohnbaren Ortes.

Life In Boxes

Spanien 2017, Farbe, HD, 4:55 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera, Schnitt: Alexander Lemus
Ton: Xavi Valero
Musik: Mario Pina
DarstellerInnen: Edward Lachman, Jr

Das Leben in Kisten, die Objekte als Form des Gedächtnisses. Edward Lachman zeigt uns sein Loft in New York, in dem er umgeben von Kisten lebt, in denen sich 70 Jahre Geschichte befinden.

Embrace

Finnland 2017, Farbe, HD, 4:34 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch: Timo Wright
Kamera: Jarkko Virtanen
Schnitt: Liisa Vääriskoski
Ton: Taneli Bruun
Musik: Katri Onnela

Ein leeres, verlassenes Haus. Langsam füllt es sich mit rotem Rauch, der schließlich das ganze Haus einhüllt. Dieser Film setzt sich mit dem Tod auseinander und dem, was von uns übrig bleibt. Sind wir nur Erinnerungen oder Geflüster in einem leeren Raum?

The lonely unit
De Eenzame Eenheid

Niederlande 2016, Farbe, HD, 10:45 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch, Schnitt, Produktion: Carlijn Fransen
Kamera: Casper Brink

Der Wohnzimmertisch raucht eine Zigarette, die Stehlampe schaut der einsamen Chefin auf ihrem Sofa über die Schulter. Eine Reihe von surrealistischen Vignetten lädt den Zuschauer in eine nach innen gerichtete Welt ein. Die Szenen erzeugen die Handlung: ein Einblick in einen absurden und doch ganz normalen Tag im Leben der Hauptdarstellerin Carlijn Fransen.

Dakhla

Mexiko 2016, Farbe, HD, 5:40 Min.
Regie, Schnitt: Mauricio Saenz
Kamera: Guillermo Villa
Musik: Le Trio Joubran
DarstellerInnen: Belen Scaglia

„Dakhla“ spiegelt das Konzept der Unsicherheit und die Ungenauigkeit einer sich verändernden Realität als omnipräsente Konfrontation wider. Das Narrativ der metaphorischen Reise zum Mittelpunkt des Meers zwischen zwei entfernten Punkten auf dem gleichen Breitengrad verstärkt die Idee einer Zukunft, die sich von Zufall und Spekulation ernährt.

This Was Home

Ägypten, Israel, Polen, USA 2016, Farbe, HD, 17:44 Min.
Regie: Dana Levy

Der Film zeigt drei Generationen aus der Familie der Künstlerin und betont die Unterschiede ihrer persönlichen Geschichten, die mit unterschiedlichen Zeiten und Orten verbunden sind. Nebeneinander präsentiert verwandeln sie sich gleichzeitig in eine Mehrgenerationenreise der Identität, jede ein Kapitel in der uralten Geschichte der jüdischen Wanderschaft.

my castle your castle

Deutschland 2017, Farbe, HD, 14:47
Regie: Kerstin Honeit
Kamera: Ljupcho Temelkovski, Annette Hollywood
Ton: Philipp Fröhlich, Jochen Jezussek
Musik: Damian Rebgetz, Paul Hankinson
DarstellerInnen: Peter Friedrich, Gunter Teichert, Damian Rebgetz, Paul Hankinson

Die Videoarbeit widmet sich der Debatte um den Wiederaufbau des Berliner Stadtschlosses auf dem Fundament des Palasts der Republik. Kerstin Honeit lädt zwei Bauarbeiter zu einer Gesprächsrunde in der Baustelle ein, die an Fernseh-Talkshows erinnert. Dieser Bezug wird durch eine Musikeinlage von zwei queeren Cowboys gebrochen und karikiert.

Katagami

Japan 2016, Super 8, 3:10 Min.
Regie, Kamera, Animation, Schnitt: Michael Lyons

Diese Stop-Motion-Film wurde mit Fotografien (und Fotografien dieser Fotografien) antiker Kimono-Färbeschablonen als Positiv und Negativ gemacht. Ein fröhliches Spiel mit optischen Illusionen – kleine Variationen in den sich wiederholenden Musterelementen erzeugen scheinbar Bewegung. Auf Super 8 fotografiert und mit Matcha-Tee (Grüntee) entwickelt.