Kurzfilme 2

Short Films International Competition
Short Films International Competition
Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Valie

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Fishing Is Not Done On Tuesdays

Austria 2017, Colour, Digital, 15:00 Min.
Regie: Lukas Marxt, Marcel Odenbach

Landscapes are a question of distance. From a distance patterns and formations, in which the landscape reveals itself as a result of natural and historic movements, become visible. Their point of intersection is marked by the house on stilts, the high seat, from whose half-toned interior the exterior presents itself as a landscape.

The Wind Sleeps Standing Up

Canada 2016, Colour, HD, 12:16 Min.
Regie, Scipt, Camera: Sharlene Bamboat
Editing, Sound: Terra Jean Long
Actors: Sharlene Bamboat, Ponni Arasu

This video work aims at illustrating the loss of memories through the decomposition of digital images. Using various narrative means as well as video recordings produced in 2008 and 2013 in Pakistan, a cut-o and scattered auto- biography is retraced.

Nocturnal Eye-Printings
Grabados del Ojo Nocturno

Ecuador, Marocco 2016, S/W, 16 mm, 6:40 Min.
Regie, Editing, Music: Jean-Jacques Martinod
Camera: Jean-Jacques Martinod, Terra Long
Sound: Adrián Santoro

A collage of collected imagery turned ritual travelogue: from the Sahara to the oceans of South America, passing through an old ancestors abode.

Small Town
Cidade Pequena

Portugal 2016, Colour, HD, 19:00 Min.
Regie, Script, Camera, Editing: Diogo Costa Amarante
Sound: Diogo Costa Amarante, Miguel Cordeiro
Music: F. R. David
Actors: Mara Costa Amarante, Frederico Costa Amarante Barreto

One day, the child Frederico learns from his teacher that bodies are made up of a head, trunk and limbs and that people die when their hearts stop. That night, he can’t sleep. He wakes his mother up several times throughout the night and complains he has a pain in his chest.

Tree
Zuhaitz

France 2017, Colour, HD, 13:31 Min.
Regie, Camera, Editing, Sound, Music: Sarah Ouazzani

This video uses the pretext of a heathen rite to enter into a daydream, guided by fire, and to explore subjectively and sensitively this rite’s impact on its surrounding environment. Like the tree which unites opposites, I try to reconcile the intimacy of an evening around a fire with a nocturnal village celebration lit by torches.

The Hearing of the Eye
Il sentire dell’occhio

Italiy 2017, Colours, HD, 5:33 Min.
Regie: Alessia Cecchet
Animation: Josh Tuthill
Music: Marco Giusto

An experimental piece that explores death through a post-humanist lens. Our under- standing of the animal other changes once it has died. We look away, no longer in awe and the wonder becomes horror. The film re-centers the animal in its passing, compelling the viewer to linger on death, reconsidering its value and opening the possibility for empathy.

Falling Frames

Netherlands 2015, Colour, HD, 1:08 Min.
Regie: Johannes Langkamp
Camera: Robin Weijers
Production: Tim Rutten, Hans van Hezik, Johannes Langkamp

Falling Frames is the first fragment of a series in which Langkamp explores the framing and visualization of three- dimensional perspective through the two-dimensional medium video, both technically as well as conceptually. In his own words, “the project is simply a research into space and how we experience space.”

Kurzfilme 2

Kurzfilme Internationaler Wettbewerb
Kurzfilme Internationaler Wettbewerb
Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Valie

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Fishing Is Not Done On Tuesdays

Österreich 2017, Farbe, Digital, 15:00 Min.
Regie: Lukas Marxt, Marcel Odenbach

Landschaft ist eine Frage der Entfernung. Aus der Distanz werden Muster und Formationen erkennbar, in denen sich die Landschaft als Resultat natürlicher und historischer Bewegungen offenbart. Ihren Kreuzungspunkt markiert jenes Haus auf Stelzen, jener Hochsitz, aus dessen gerastertem Innen heraus sich das Außen als Landschaft erschließt.

The Wind Sleeps Standing Up

Kanada 2016, Farbe, HD, 12:16 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera: Sharlene Bamboat
Schnitt, Ton: Terra Jean Long
DarstellerInnen: Sharlene Bamboat, Ponni Arasu

Diese Videoarbeit versucht durch die Zersetzung des digitalen Bildes den Verlust der Erinnerung zu veranschaulichen. Durch die Verwendung unterschiedlicher narrativer Mittel sowie eigener Videoaufnahmen, die 2008 und 2013 in Pakistan entstanden, wird eine abgerissene und zerstreute Autobiographie nachgezeichnet.

Nocturnal Eye-Printings
Grabados del Ojo Nocturno

Ecuador, Marokko 2016, S/W, 16 mm, 6:40 Min.
Regie, Schnitt, Musik: Jean-Jacques Martinod
Kamera: Jean-Jacques Martinod, Terra Long
Ton: Adrián Santoro

Diese Videoarbeit versucht durch die Zersetzung des digitalen Bildes den Verlust der Erinnerung zu veranschaulichen. Durch die Verwendung unterschiedlicher narrativer Mittel sowie eigener Videoaufnahmen, die 2008 und 2013 in Pakistan entstanden, wird eine abgerissene und zerstreute Autobiographie nachgezeichnet.

Small Town
Cidade Pequena

Portugal 2016, Farbe, HD, 19:00 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera, Schnitt: Diogo Costa Amarante
Ton: Diogo Costa Amarante, Miguel Cordeiro
Musik: F. R. David
DarstellerInnen: Mara Costa Amarante, Frederico Costa Amarante Barreto

Eines Tages lernt der kleine Frederico, dass der Körper aus Kopf, Rumpf und Gliedmaßen besteht und dass man stirbt, wenn das Herz aufhört zu schlagen. In der Nacht darauf kann er nicht schlafen. Er weckt seine Mutter immer wieder und klagt über Schmerzen in der Brust.

Tree
Zuhaitz

Frankreich 2017, Farbe, HD, 13:31 Min.
Regie, Kamera, Schnitt, Ton, Musik: Sarah Ouazzani

Das Video nimmt heidnischen Rituale als Vorwand, um in einen Tagtraum, geleitet von Feuer, einzutauchen und feinfühlig den Einfluss dieses Ritus‘ auf die Umwelt zu erforschen. Wie ein Baum, der die Gegensätze verbindet, versuche ich, die Intimität eines Abends am Feuer mit den von Fackeln erleuchteten Feiern in einem nächtlichen Dorf zu verbinden.

The Hearing of the Eye
Il sentire dell’occhio

Italien 2017, Farbe, HD, 5:33 Min.
Regie: Alessia Cecchet
Animation: Josh Tuthill
Musik: Marco Giusto

Eine post-humanistische Betrachtung des Todes: Unser Verständnis des animalisch Anderen verändert sich nach dessen Tod. Wir schauen weg, staunen nicht mehr, aus dem Wunder wird Horror. Der Film fesselt den Zuschauer, indem er das Hinscheiden des Tieres in den Mittelpunkt rückt, so dass er seine Werte überdenken und sich der Empathie öffnen kann.

Falling Frames

Niederlande 2015, Farbe, HD, 1:08 Min.
Regie: Johannes Langkamp
Kamera: Robin Weijers
Produktion: Tim Rutten, Hans van Hezik, Johannes Langkamp

Falling Frames ist der erste Teil einer Serie, in der Langkamp die Einrahmung und Visualisierung einer dreidimensionalen Perspektive mit dem zweidimensionalen Medium Video untersucht – sowohl technisch als auch konzeptuell. In seinen Worten „ist das Projekt eine Forschungsarbeit über den Raum und wie wir den Raum erleben.“